The Puerto Rican Princess

So anyone who knows me knows that I LOVE good, messy reality TV show- definitely my guilty pleasure. BUT, I must say, this past week after watching Love and Hip Hop Atlanta, I was simply appalled and…to be honest… heartbroken.

Our “Puerto Rican princess” Joseline Hernandez-Jordan (I’ll let her have her fake marriage today) has done it again. If you keep up with the show, you already know how these reunions normally go down, but I don’t think anyone anticipated what she had in store for us this past Monday night. 

Video: LHHATL S3 Reunion Part 2

It was honestly very heartbreaking to watch a woman with so much power to influence the people that she reaches (and I must say she  shockingly has more following than I’d ever imagined her to have..but I digress) act like a complete fool. I mean, seriously. It was as if she was some sort of monster waiting for anyone to even BLINK the wrong way. But beyond her horrific behavior, here’s where my issue lies– VH1, Monami Ent., and every cast member sitting on that stage gave her the exact power and attention that she was starving for. 

From the moment “Joseline Hernandez Baby” was kicked off that set, she was THE ONLY THING DISCUSSED. Nobody ever got to anything else. Now I haven’t seen previews for next week’s part three, but i sure do hope they let this Joseline issue die for 60 minutes. And if not, why hasn’t a bigger and more important conversation been started.

Although Sommore (the host) gave her little disclosure on behalf of VH1 saying that they do not condone the type of behavior that Joseline exemplified, I’m still concerned that that portion of the reunion was showcased just to get ratings and to get people talking about the show– especially considering the fact that Love and Hip Hop Hollywood is soon to air (and I don’t know anybody interested in what Lil Fizz has going). Another fabulous blogger, Funky Dineva, explored the way the Joseline was portrayed in this reunion with no holds barred.

Funky Dineva Talks About VH1’s Portrayal of Joseline Hernandez

But honestly, is this the way to boost ratings now-a-days? In my opinion, this serves as a perfect opportunity for cast members and producers (maybe even Joseline and her partner Stevie J) to start something that actually matters like a mentoring program, a campaign designed to increase bullying awareness, or even something dedicated to informing people on the risks of drug-use (considering drug-use is what Joseline’s behaviors are being charged to). It’s obvious that after this some reputations are going to need to be rebuilt and some faces are going to need to be re-branded. 

Now I don’t know who would look up to Joseline as a mentor, but hey… it might keep her out of that strip club Stevie keeps trying to send her back to.

Leave a Reply

