“A World Where Every Girl Activates Her Limitless Potential…”

For PR class, we’ve been working some corporate writing. For the assignments, we had to choose a particular organization and find out as much information as we could, and will essentially be following them for the remainder of the semester. Originally I chose BET Network, since Being Mary Jane had just premiered, BET Honors were coming up, and The BET Experience is in the planning stages. I figured there would be a lot of information for me to work with.

But….there wasn’t. BET need a serious revamping plan. But anyway, I turned my attention to a non-profit organization known as Girls on the Run International. One of my younger cousins, Ja’Niya, is involved in it and ALWAYS talks about it (literally, always), but I never really paid any attention to it because I thought the name was ridiculous. Girls on the Run sounds like runaway kids. Why would you teach a kid to run away?! Thankfully, this is not at all what this organization is dedicated to doing. I’ve been researching it for some time now and I’ve literally fallen in LOVE.

GOTR is a 12-week program that teaches life lessons, problem solving skills, fosters confidence among young girls, WHILE encouraging a healthy and active lifestyle. Amazing, right? Through a 24-lesson curriculum,  young girls between 3-8th grades are taught to love who they are and the importance of making and achieving goals. They train for a 5K event that is held at the end of the curriculum, which provides them tangible sense of achievement and shows them that they can do anything that they work towards. AND THEY’RE HAVING FUN DOING IT! Please tell me way I have not heard of this sooner?

LINK: GOTR 5K VIDEO CLIP

I’ve always wanted to start something that encourages young girls to be the best that they can be in the Harrisonburg area. It’s important for children to understand their worth and be confident in who they are, and I definitely believe in the importance of beneficial mentoring. I’ve been talking about doing something like this for about a year now, but never really knew how or where to start. I think I’ve finally found a way 🙂

Of course, you all know I will most likely never end my blogs without public relations being involved. As much as I just want to write to express my new-found love for this org., I am truly writing because of the AWARENESS factor!  I’m probably not a target audience for this organization since I’m not a 3-8th grade girl, or a parent of a 3-8th grade girl, BUT I am very much interested in starting a branch here in Harrisonburg!! GOTR could have a name that rings bells if the PR was bumped up, and there could be many more branches in areas that aren’t quite aware of this organization.

“We envision a world where every girl knows and activates her limitless potential and is free to boldly pursue her dreams.”

What a powerful vision statement.

One thought on ““A World Where Every Girl Activates Her Limitless Potential…”

  1. Pingback: Thank you, Sophomore Year | As Told By Bree

Leave a Reply

